NCCE announces 23 national computing hubs

The school and college hubs will support local computing CPD and make links with industry and universities to share expertise

The National Centre for Computing Education (NCCE) has appointed 23 schools and colleges to act as computing hubs in areas across England.

Schools and colleges that are designated hubs will support computing education in their area, such as being focal points for local computing CPD and facilitating relationships with industry and universities.

Each school and college has been selected via a rigorous process that required them to demonstrate ‘expertise and commitment to computing education’.

The National Centre for Computing Education […] will give teachers the subject knowledge and support they need to teach our new, reformed computing curriculum.
– Nick Gibb, school standards minister

School standards minister, Nick Gibb, said: “The National Centre for Computing Education, led by some of the UK’s leading tech experts and backed by £84m of government investment, will give teachers the subject knowledge and support they need to teach our new, reformed computing curriculum.

“Appointing the first group of lead schools, to support local counterparts and deliver specialist training and development, marks an important step in making the aims of the NCCE a reality.”

Chair of the NCCE, Professor Simon Peyton Jones, said: “Our partnership with teachers is vital to our mission. A single inspired, equipped, valued and supported teacher will influence tens or hundreds of children every day, and thousands over their career.”

You might also like: Reactions from industry to the lack of 16-year-olds undertaking computing qualifications

The NCCE was established in November 2018, and is a consortium made up of STEM Learning, Raspberry Pi Foundation and BCS, The Chartered Institute for IT. It aims to increase the number of pupils in schools and colleges who study computer science at GCSE, AS and A Level, particularly girls, and those from disadvantaged areas.

The 23 new computing hubs are:

  • All Saints RC School, North Yorkshire
  • Beauchamp College, Leicestershire
  • Bingley Grammar School, West Yorkshire
  • Bishop Challoner Catholic College, West Midlands
  • Cardinal Hume Catholic School, Tyne and Wear
  • Carmel College, County Durham
  • Chesterton Community College, Cambridgeshire
  • City of Stoke-on-Trent 6th Form College, Staffordshire
  • Dartford Grammar School, Kent
  • Dereham Neatherd High School, Norfolk
  • Exeter Mathematics School, Devon
  • Harrogate Grammar School, North Yorkshire
  • Kings Priory School, Tyne and Wear
  • Langley Grammar School, Berkshire
  • Newstead Wood School, Kent
  • Pate’s Grammar School, Gloucestershire
  • Saffron Walden County High School, Essex
  • Sandringham School, Hertfordshire
  • St Clements Danes School, Hertfordshire
  • The Chase, Worcestershire
  • Truro and Penwith College, Cornwall
  • West Suffolk College, Suffolk
  • Westcliff High School for Girls, Essex

More information about the NCCE is available at

Free live webinar & QA

The digital difference - Build a culture of reading with ebooks & audiobooks

Free Education Webinar with OverDrive

Friday, June 24, 2PM London BST

In this webinar, hear from Havant Academy Librarian Joanna Parsons to learn how she uses ebooks and audiobooks to help boost reading among her secondary students.