Royal honours for Alliance universities

Four Alliance universities recognised in the Queen’s Anniversary Prizes for outstanding excellence in HE and FE

Cardiff Metropolitan University, the University of Greenwich, the University of Huddersfield and Nottingham Trent University all received the prestigious honour at a ceremony in St James’ Palace in London.

The Prize comprises 21 awards. They are part of the UK’s national honours systems and are considered to be one of the UK’s highest accolades to a UK academic institution. 

Maddalaine Ansell, Chief Executive of University Alliance, said: “The range of universities receiving these prestigious awards reflects the diversity of our higher education system. This is a real strength for the UK – and should be nurtured through a TEF that recognises different kinds of excellence in teaching, maintaining the dual support system and continuing to fund excellence wherever it is found.”

The four Alliance universities who received Queen’s Anniversary Prizes for Higher and Further Education are:

Cardiff Metropolitan University: (below) honoured for its work in 3D digital scanning technologies and advanced manufacturing for use in maxillofacial reconstructive surgery to treat disease or following trauma. This pioneering work enables the rapid production of devices for use in surgical procedures.

The Natural Resources Institution (NRI) at the University of Greenwich: (below) was honoured for its work on cassava, a tropical root crop, which is a staple food in sub-Saharan Africa.

The University of Huddersfield: (below) honoured for its work in promoting, producing and presenting contemporary music to an international audience. The university has created the Huddersfield Contemporary Music Festival – the largest international platform for new and experimental music in the UK which has a global reputation. 

Nottingham Trent University: (below)honoured for its world-class research. Researchers developed a new method of X-ray imaging, using a single X-ray source to produce ‘divergent beams’ capable of capturing different views of an object under inspection.

The Queen’s Anniversary Prizes are awarded every two years to universities and colleges who submit work judged to show excellence, innovation, impact and benefit for the institution itself and for people and society generally in the wider world.

Free live webinar & QA

Blended learning – Did we forget about the students?

Free Education Webinar with Class

Wednesday, June 15, 11AM London BST

Join our expert panel as we look at what blended learning means in 2022 and how universities can meet the needs of ever more diverse student expectations.